8 counties authorized to receive state disaster assistance following spring storms, flooding

Friday, Gov. Tim Walz announced eight counties will now be able to receive emergency help from the state after severe weather and flooding caused damage to those areas earlier this year.

State emergency assistance is now available for the following counties:

  • Becker
  • Benton
  • Cottonwood
  • Freeborn
  • Lyon
  • McLeod
  • Murray
  • Rock

According to Walz’s office, the damage happened between April and July from multiple weather events, which included snowmelt, tornadoes, hail and flash flooding.

In July, severe storms with flooding caused by heavy rainfall affected Cottonwood, Freeborn and Rock counties.

RELATED: Storms bring flash flooding, damaging winds to southern Minnesota

In June, a severe thunderstorm moved through Cottonwood County that caused flash flooding.

Meanwhile, Benton, Lyon, McLeod and Murray counties received damage in early- to mid-May when severe storms with flash flooding and tornadoes moved through. Walz’s office said the same storm system also caused damage in nearly two dozen other counties that qualified for federal help.

RELATED: Biden approves aid for May storm damage in Minn.

Becker County received flood damage that was caused by a combination of snowmelt and heavy rainfall in April, with Walz adding the flooding also caused damage in 15 other counties and four tribal nations, which were eligible to receive federal help.