Biden approves aid for May storm damage in Minn.

Friday, President Joe Biden approved federal aid for several counties in Minnesota affected by storms in May.

A release from the White House indicated funding on a cost-sharing basis is available for state, tribal and eligible local governments, as well as some nonprofit organizations, to put toward repair and emergency work after May 8-13 storm damage.

TORNADO UPDATES: Evaluation of damage in Minn. continues

Counties eligible for this aid include: Aitkin, Big Stone, Cass, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Douglas, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Morrison, Nobles, Pope, Redwood, Renville, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin, and Yellow Medicine.

Funding is also available for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is assisting, according to the White House.