Gophers Track & Field sends 31 to NCAA Regionals starting Wednesday

After great showing at Big Ten meet, Gopher Track & Field prepares for NCAA Regionals

Click the video box on this page to watch KSTP Sports interviews with several Gophers track and field athletes headed to the NCAA Regional meet: Shelby Frank, Erin Reidy, Angelos Mantzouranis, Charles Godfred and Devin Augustine

After a successful run at the Big Ten Track and Field meet two weeks ago, 31 Gopher athletes are scheduled to compete at this week’s NCAA Regional meet at the University of Arkansas.

The top qualifiers at the Regional meet advance to the 2024 NCAA Championships running at legendary Hayward Field at the University of Oregon from June 5-7.

Several Gophers head to Regionals after earning Big Ten individual event titles.

Devin Augustine is the Big Ten champion in the 100-meter sprint, setting a meet record in his victory. He was also named the Men’s Track Athlete of the Championships.

Charles Godfred (long jump), Jak Urlacher (pole vault) and Angelos Mantzouranis (hammer throw) also earned individual titles at the Big Ten men’s meet.

The Gopher women won the team title at the Big Ten meet anchored by event champions Zoie Dundon (3000m steeplechase) and Shelby Frank (hammer throw) and silver medalists Odell Frye (100m), Erin Reidy (1500m) and Annie Nabwe (shot put). The women’s 4x400m team of Jayla Campbell, Janielle Josephs, Brooke Jaworski, and Abigail Schaaffe also won their event.

Content below is courtesy of Gopher Athletics

About the NCAA West Prelim
The four-day competition takes place at John McDonnell Field on the campus of the University of Arkansas. Qualifying individuals and relays advance to the 2024 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Eugene, Ore., held on June 5-7 at Hayward Field. Athletes who rank among the top 48 in their respective event earn a berth into the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds. In addition, the best 24 relay times advance to the NCAA preliminaries. Athletes with the top 12 times/marks and the best 12 relay teams at both the East and West Preliminary Rounds sites will qualify for the NCAA Championships. The action will be live streamed via ESPN on ESPN+ while live results can be followed on 

Gophers at the NCAA West Prelim
The women’s team enters the meet with five participants ranked among the top 10 in six different events, including Odell Frye (No. 7 – 100m), Zoie Dundon (No. 5 – 3000m steeplechase), Diarra Sow (No. 8 – triple jump), Anthonett Nabwe (No. 9 – shot put, No. 10 – hammer throw), and Shelby Frank (No. 3 – discus throw, No. 4 – hammer throw). Minnesota’s men head south with four athletes ranked in the top 10 of regional entrants in five events featuring Devin Augustine (No. 2 – 100m, No. 3 – 200m), Jak Urlacher (No. 6 – pole vault), Charles Godfred (No. 3 – long jump), and Angelos Mantzouranis (No. 3 – hammer throw).

Augustine, Frye and Godah all will be busy throughout the weekend, potentially competing in three events each with the trio all running as members of Minnesota’s 4x100m relay teams. Additionally, Minnesota’s 4x400m relay team on the women’s side qualified. Out of Minnesota’s qualifiers, eight women qualified for their first NCAA West Regional while six men earned bids for the first time in their careers. 

Last Time Out
It was a banner day for the University of Minnesota on May 12 as the women’s team won the 2024 Big Ten Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championship after recording 80 team points during the day and totaled 131. On the men’s side, the Golden Gophers added two event titles and finished the meet in seventh place overall.

It’s the fourth time in program history the Maroon and Gold have claimed the women’s team title, including three of the previous eight meets, and first since 2018. The 4x400m relay team of Jayla CampbellJanielle JosephsBrooke Jaworski, and Abigail Schaaffe clinched the championship with a come-from-behind event win by .01 seconds.

Women’s Declared Entrants
Odell Frye – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Victory Godah – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Janielle Josephs – 400m, 4x400m Relay
Jayla Campbell – 400m, 4x400m Relay
Brooke Jaworski – 800m, 4x400m Relay
Erin Reidy – 1500m
Maja Maunsbach – 100mH
Zariyah Black – 100mH, 4x100m Relay
Abigail Schaaffe – 400mH, 4x400m Relay
Zoie Dundon – 3000m Steeplechase
Taylor Kreitinger – 3000m Steeplechase
Alliyah McNeil – 4x100m Relay, High Jump, Long Jump
Dalayni Etienne – 4x400m Relay
Dyandra Gray – 4x400m Relay
Lexy Berger – Pole Vault
Sofia Condon – Pole Vault
Diarra Sow – Triple Jump
Brooke Moore – Triple Jump
Anthonett Nabwe – Shot Put, Discus Throw, Hammer Throw
Shelby Frank – Discus Throw, Hammer Throw
Hadley Streit – Hammer Throw

Men’s Declared Entrants
Devin Augustine – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Ramy Ayoub – 800m
Eli Hoeft – 1500m
Dan VanAcker – 3000m Steeplechase
Charles Godfred – 4x100m Relay, Long Jump
Finn Schirmer – 4x100m Relay
Gary Afram – 4x100m Relay
Dante White – 4x100m Relay
Jak Urlacher – Pole Vault
Angelos Mantzouranis – Hammer Throw