What voters need to know as Tuesday’s primary begins

[anvplayer video=”4952314″ station=”998122″]

The primary election is here, and Minnesotans will be voting for who they want to run for state senator, district representatives and more.

KSTP’s complete 2020 election coverage

If you plan on heading to the polls Tuesday, Aug. 11, here is what you need to know:

How do I register?

If not already registered, eligible individuals can register to vote in person on the day of the primary.

How do I vote?

Voters can vote in person or by voting early via mail. You can also locate your polling place here.

Voting early by mail should have been mailed in no later than Tuesday, Aug. 4. If the ballot was not mailed in on time, voters can drop off the ballot at the address listed on their return envelope on or before Aug. 11.

Polling places are usually open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

What should I bring?

If your voter registration is current and active, meaning you were registered to vote at least 21 days before the voting day and haven’t moved or changed names, an identification card isn’t required. If that is not the case, you will need to show proof of residence before voting.

What’s on my ballot?

  • U.S. Senator
  • U.S. Representative
  • Some state and local races
  • School Board member (some districts)

Key races

  • U.S. Sen. Tina Smith is running against four registered opponents in the DFL primary: Steve Carlson, Ahmad Hassan, Paula Overby and Chris Seymore.
  • The Republican-endorsed Senate candidate, former U.S. Rep. Jason Lewis, also has four challengers in the primary: John Berman, Bob "Again" Carney Jr., Cynthia Gail and James Reibestein.
  • What is likely the most-watched Congressional District during primary Tuesday in Minnesota: the 5th Congressional District. Led currently by incumbent Rep. Ilhan Omar, she will be challenged by fellow DFL candidates Antone Melton-Meaux, Les Lester, John Mason and Daniel Patrick McCarthy. The Republican candidates are Lacy Johnson, Danielle Stella and Dalia al-Aqidi.
  • In St. Paul, the 4th Congressional District includes 20-year Rep. Betty McCollum facing four DFL primary opponents: Tiffini Forslund, Alberder Gillespie, Reid Rossell and David Sandbeck.
    • McCollum’s Republican-endorsed rival Sia Lo is opposed in the GOP primary by Gene Rechtzigel.
  • Extending from northern Washington County to the St. Cloud area is the 6th Congressional District. In it, three-term Republican U.S. Rep. Tom Emmer faces a Republican primary challenge from Patrick Munro.

You can see a list of the candidates and ballot questions on your sample ballot here.

Amid pandemic, Minnesota secretary of state says to expect election result delays