Progressives beat Democratic incumbents in Minnesota state legislative races

[anvplayer video=”4952868″ station=”998122″]

Challengers have defeated four incumbent Democratic legislators in Minnesota’s primaries as the progressive wing of the party shows its strength.

Sen. Erik Simonson of Duluth lost to Jen McEwen, who campaigned against copper-nickel mining and an oil pipeline project that he supports.

Rep. Ray Dehn lost to Esther Agbaje in a Minneapolis race. Rep. John Lesch lost to Athena Hollins in St. Paul.

And veteran Sen. Jeff Hayden, who was active in passing police accountability legislation, conceded Wednesday to self-described democratic socialist Omar Fateh in the Minneapolis district where George Floyd was killed.