Minnesota’s 3rd Congressional District race not as talked about in 2020 in comparison to previous election cycle

[anvplayer video=”4971800″ station=”998122″]

Minnesota’s Third Congressional District was a hot race with national recognition in the last election cycle. This time around, however, it isn’t drawing the same amount of attention.

Located in the largely suburban west metro, stretching from Brooklyn Park to Edina to Bloomington, the district has voted Republican since 1961. All candidates served anywhere from five to 10 terms in office.

In 2018, things heated up. The district was trending Democrat for the presidential election and Democrats wanted to flip the congressional seat, too.

Election 2020 Coverage from KSTP

In the end, Democrat Dean Phillips defeated the Republican incumbent by a wide margin.

Watch the video above on how the 2020 race is looking ahead of Election Day.