Minnesota DFL announces endorsements for congressional candidates

[anvplayer video=”4910757″ station=”998122″]

The Minnesota DFL Party on Sunday released a list of endorsements for candidates running for the U.S. House of Representatives.

Each candidate won the support of at least three-fifths of the party’s delegates in virtual congressional district conventions. The online voting took place from May 16-24.

“The Minnesota DFL Party has endorsed a talented and diverse array of candidates for the United States House of Representatives," DFL Chairman Ken Martin said in a statement. "By fielding a slate of candidates with experience, name-recognition, and records of standing up and advocating for the people of Minnesota, the DFL Party is well-positioned to build on the gains we made in 2018."

The endorsed candidates include five incumbents and three challengers:

  • 1st Congressional District: Dan Feehan
  • 2nd Congressional District: Rep. Angie Craig
  • 3rd Congressional District: Rep. Dean Phillips
  • 4th Congressional District: Rep. Betty McCollum
  • 5th Congressional District: Rep. Ilhan Omar
  • 6th Congressional District: Tawnja Zahradka
  • 7th Congressional District: Rep. Collin Peterson
  • 8th Congressional District: Quinn Nystrom

The DFL’s candidates will be decided in the August primary election.

The Minnesota Republican Party has not made its endorsements yet. The party’s virtual convention was originally set for last weekend, but it had to be postponed because of issues with its voting system.