Five Vikings selected to Pro Bowl, Darrisaw somehow left out

[anvplayer video=”5154062″ station=”998122″]

Vikings QB Kirk Cousins, WR Justin Jefferson, TE T.J. Hockenson, OLB Za’Darius Smith and LS Andrew DePaola have been selected by players, fans and coaches to the 2023 NFL Pro Bowl Games. Jefferson, Smith and DePaola were named starters.

The following Vikings were named alternates for the 2023 NFL Pro Bowl Games: RB Dalvin Cook (first), FB C.J. Ham (first), OLB Danielle Hunter (first), RS Kene Nwangwu (first), T Christian Darrisaw (second), C Garrett Bradbury (second), S Harrison Smith (second), ST Kris Boyd (third), LB Eric Kendricks (third).

Darrisaw not making it and not even being a first alternate is a big surprise. Sure, he’s missed games, but when in there, he’s proven to be one of the best left tackles in the NFL.

DePaola is the bestd story, earning his first Pro Bowl honor, becoming the first long snapper in franchise history to be selected to the Pro Bowl.

***Click the video box above to watch DePaola tell KSTP Sports his backstory***

The Parkton, Maryland, native has handled long snapping duties in all 14 games played this season. This season, DePaola helped K Greg Joseph connect on four game-winning field goals, setting the new team record for the most in a single season. He also helped rookie P Ryan Wright record the 10th-best net punting average (42.8) and the 10th-lowest opponent punt return average (7.9) in 2022. Since entering the league in 2014, DePaola has played in 103 games and tallied 17 tackles.