Vikings name Kevin Williams as Ring of Honor inductee

The Minnesota Vikings announced on Wednesday that former defensive tackle Kevin Williams will be inducted into the team’s Ring of Honor.

"We are so proud to have Kevin Williams take his place in the Vikings Ring of Honor this fall," said Vikings Owner/Chairman Zygi Wilf. "He was one of the greatest defensive players in team history, and he very much deserves this honor."

Williams is third all-time on the team in sacks (60) trailing only Alan Page (108) and John Randle (114). He also is tied for second in defensive tackle Pro Bowl selections (6), tied with Randle and trailing Page (9).

Williams was the No. 9 overall pick in 2003 and went on to earn All-Rookie honors, setting the team record for sacks in a game (3). Over the 11 seasons he spent with Minnesota, he started every game, including playoffs. He was selected as a First Team Pro Bowl selection in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009.

This addition puts the Vikings Ring of Honor total at 26. Current members include: Fran Tarkenton, Page, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Fred Zamberletti, Jim Marshall, Ron Yary, Korey Stringer, Mick Tingelhoff, Carl Eller, Bill Brown, Jerry Burns, Randall McDaniel, Chuck Foreman, Randle, Scott Studwell, Chris Doleman, Matt Blair, Joey Browner, Ahmad Rashad, Randy Moss, Dennis Green and Steve Jordan.