Twins announce 20 Spring Training non-roster invitees

The Minnesota Twins on Monday announced that 20 players on minor league contracts have been invited to major league spring training in 2020.

Joining the team in Ft. Myers, Florida will be: left-handed pitchers Charlie Barnes, Sam Clay, Danny Coulombe, Blaine Hardy and Caleb Thielbar; right-handed pitchers Jhoulys Chacin, Edwar Colina, Ryan Garton, Griffin Jax and Jake Reed; catchers Juan Graterol, Ryan Jeffers, Ben Rortvedt and Tomás Telis; infielders Royce Lewis, Jack Reinheimer and Wilfredo Tovar; and outfielders Alex Kirilloff, Trevor Larnach and Brent Rooker.

Of those 20 players, nine have major league service time: Chacin (Colorado, Arizona, Atlanta, Los Angeles-AL, San Diego, Milwaukee and Boston), Coulombe (Los Angeles-NL and Oakland), Hardy (Detroit), Thielbar (Minnesota), Garton (Tampa Bay and Seattle), Graterol (Los Angeles-AL, Minnesota and Cincinnati), Telis (Texas and Miami), Reinheimer (Arizona and New York-NL), and Tovar (New York-NL and Los Angeles-AL).

The club also announced nine guest instructors who will be at camp this year, including Hall of Famers Rod Carew and Bert Blyleven, and former Twins Michael Cuddyer, LaTroy Hawkins, Torii Hunter, Justin Morneau, Joe Nathan, Johan Santana and Tony Oliva.

Twins pitchers and catchers are scheduled to begin their workouts on Feb. 12. The first full-squad workout is scheduled to take place on Feb. 17.

The Twins currently have 61 players scheduled to report to 2020 spring training.