Twins Diamond Award winners announced

Thursday, the Minnesota Twins announced the winners of the team’s annual awards, which are voted on by the Twin Cities Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America and the Twins Community Fund Board of Directors.

Shortstop Carlos Correa won several of the awards, including the 2022 team’s Most Valuable Twin Award, the Bob Allison Award (given to the player who exemplifies determination, hustle, tenacity, competitive spirit and leadership both on and off the field), the Jim Kaat Award (defensive player of the year) and the Mike Augustin Award (“Media Good Guy”). He also won the Carl R. Pohlad Outstanding Community Service Award for his Correa Family Foundation’s work and his other community work.

Other players honored include:

  • Nick Gordon, who won the Charles O. Johnson Award (most improved Twin).
  • Jhoan Duran, the winner of the Joseph W. Haynes Award (pitcher of the year) and the Bill Boni Award (most outstanding rookie).
  • Matt Wallner, the Sherry Robertson Award-winner (minor league player of the year).
  • Louie Varland, who won the Jim Rantz Award as the club’s minor league pitcher of the year.

Former Twin Al Newman was named the winner of the Kirby Puckett Award for community service by a Twins alumni.

Also, Arizona Diamondbacks outfielder Daulton Varsho was named the winner of the Dick Siebert Award, given to the Upper Midwest’s player of the year.

The organization’s 18th annual Diamond Awards will officially be celebrated on Jan. 26 at The Depot Minneapolis, with proceeds benefitting research, education, and brain, nerve and muscle disorders at the University of Minnesota. The club says the event has raised nearly $4 million since it started in 2006.

More information is available online.