Thielen named finalist for NFL sportsmanship award

Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Adam Thielen’s season ended early due to injury but he’s still being recognized for his sportsmanship.

The NFL on Thursday announced Thielen as one of the eight finalists for the league’s 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Each team nominates one player for the award, which was created in honor of the Pittsburgh Steelers founder Art Rooney, Sr.

Former Vikings quarterback Teddy Bridgewater won the award last year.

The seven other finalists for the 2021 award are:

  • Buffalo QB Josh Allen
  • Houston WR Brandin Cooks
  • Miami DB Jason McCourty
  • New England WR Matthew Slater
  • Tampa Bay LB Lavonte David
  • New Orleans DE Cameron Jordan
  • San Francisco FB Kyle Juszczyk

It’s Thielen’s first time being nominated for the award, according to the Vikings.