Gophers’ LaFontaine named Big Ten Goaltender of the Year

Tuesday, University of Minnesota Gophers senior Jack LaFontaine was named the Big Ten Goaltender of the Year.

The Hobey Baker Award candidate and Mike Richter Award finalist was one of three Gophers to earn First Team All-Big Ten honors.

Sampo Ranta and Jackson LaCombe were also named First Team All-Big Ten while Brock Faber earned Big Ten All-Freshman Team honors and Ben Meyers, Scott Reedy, Sammy Walker and Ryan Johnson were All-Big Ten honorable mentions. Cullen Munson was named Minnesota’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

LaFontaine leads the NCAA with 20 wins this season and is tied for the national lead with a .937 save percentage. He’s also second with a 1.65 goals against average and five shutouts.

Minnesota will play Wisconsin in the Big Ten title game Tuesday night after rallying to beat Michigan in overtime on Monday.