Gophers’ Ibrahim named Big Ten Running Back of the Year

University of Minnesota running back Mohamed Ibrahim was named the Big Ten’s Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year on Tuesday.

Ibrahim is the first Gopher to ever receive the honor, and the third student-athlete to be named a conference playor of the year in the past two seasons, joining Rashod Bateman (Receiver of the Year) and Antoine Winfield Jr. (Defensive Back of the Year) in 2019.

Ibrahim was also named All-Big Ten First Team by both the coaches and media, and was the lone player on the media list to be voted to the first team unanimously.

In six games this season, Ibrahim led the conference in rushing attempts (175), rushing yards (925), rushing touchdowns (15), average rushing yards per game (154.2), all-purpose yards (1,028), scoring (90) and points per game (15). He’s also rushed for at least 100 yards in all six games and has a current streak of seven consecutive games with at least 100 yards rushing, tied with Laurence Maroney for the most in school history.

Additionally, Bateman (coaches and media), Blaise Andries (media) and Conner Olson (media) were named All-Big Ten Third Team. Tanner Morgan (coaches and media), John Schmitz (coaches and media), Olson (coaches), Andries (coaches) and Sam Schlueter (coaches and media) were also named All-Big Ten Honorable Mention.

Minnesota is set to play at Wisconsin at 3 p.m. on Saturday.