Gophers’ Ben Meyers named Hobey Baker Award finalist

A day after receiving a big conference honor, one University of Minnesota men’s hockey player has gotten another honor.

Ben Meyers, the Big Ten Conference Player of the Year, has been named a Hobey Baker Award finalist.

Meyers is one of 10 finalists for the award, which is given each year to the top men’s college hockey player.

RELATED: Meyers, Faber, Motzko honored by Big Ten

He’s the 17th Gopher to be a finalist for the award; four have won it: Neal Broten in 1981, Robb Stauber in 1988, Brian Bonin in 1996 and Jordan Leopold in 2022.

The 10 finalists were selected through voting from all 59 Division I college hockey head coaches and online fan balloting. The 30-member selection committee and another round of fan voting will determine the winner. The top three finalists will be announced on March 31 with the winner being revealed on April 8.