Elk River’s Cade Osterman wins 2022 MFCA Mr. Football award

Elk River team captain Cade Osterman has been named 2022 Mr. Football by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA), adding a final touch to an impressive career with the Elks.

Osterman is the first to win the award from Elk River and the 19th in line since the award was introduced, according to the MFCA.

He led the Elks’ squad to a Class 5A State Championship after collecting 2733 all-purpose yards and a combined 28 passing and rushing touchdowns this year.

As a quarterback, defensive back, kick returner and punt returner, Osterman collected 2,337 career rushing yards, 744 career passing yards and 442 kickoff return yards.

He gave the Elks 29 career rushing touchdowns, 13 career touchdown passes and 11 career two-point conversions, the MFCA said.

He also added 65 career tackles, 55 of which were in 2022 alone.

Elk River coach Steve Hamilton gave the MFCA this statement regarding Osterman’s high school career:

“Cade is the most dynamic player I have ever coached. He is a three-year starter at quarterback, a two-year starter at safety, our punter for two years, and handles the punt and kick returns. Cade does not come off the field. Without Cade, we would not be in the position we are today. Cade boasts a 3.7 G.P.A., is in the National Honor Society, and is yearly one of our leaders in our Community Service Award. Cade is an unbelievable ambassador of our program.”

The MFCA listed these players as finalists for the award:

  • Sam Becker, Chatfield
  • Ryan Bengston, Becker
  • Kade Gilbertson, Rosemount
  • Carson Hansen, Lakeville South
  • Maxwell McEnelly, Waconia
  • Tanner Scheevel, Lester Prairie
  • Max Shikenjanski, Stillwater Area
  • Jordan Summers, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton
  • Reese Tripp, Kasson-Mantorville

Find more MFCA information here.