Big Ten announces start date for men’s hockey season

Tuesday, the Big Ten Conference announced the start date for the 2020-2021 hockey season.

According to a news release from the University of Minnesota, the season will begin on Nov. 13, and will include a 24-game conference schedule.

There will also be four additional games against Arizona State University hosted at Big Ten venues.

Playoffs will be held from March 18 to March 20.

"The 2020-21 hockey season builds on the rich traditions of Big Ten Hockey and brings new competitive opportunities to the Conference with the Arizona State University scheduling agreement," Commissioner Kevin Warren said in a statement. "As our teams return to competition, we will continue to keep the health and safety of our student-athletes at the forefront of our decisions."

Hockey teams will follow the same protocols that were developed by the Big Ten Return to Competition Task Force.