Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association names Waseca’s Arik Matson as officer of the year

On Wednesday, the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association (MCPA) announced that Waseca Police Officer Arik Matson is the 2020 recipient of its prestigious Police Officer of the Year award. Matson was shot and severely injured on Jan. 6, 2020 while responding to a report of a suspicious person.

According to a release, the MCPA also recognized 13 additional officers from agencies across the state for "their compassion for the citizens they serve and their commitment to keeping their communities safe."

"These awards call out some of the best, brightest and bravest men and women in Minnesota law enforcement, but police chiefs across our state also today want to recognize the great work that goes unnoticed from the vast majority of police officers in agencies of all sizes, urban and rural," said MCPA President Eric Werner, who also serves as police chief in Maple Grove.

Werner says the award is given to an officer whose actions exceed expectations after having been injured, who face imminent personal hazards to life above and beyond the call of duty, and who demonstrate courage in dangerous or emergency conditions which resulted in the successful resolution of the situation.

Other members of the Waseca Police Department who were part of the incident on Jan. 6 have also been recognized for their actions. Captain Kris Markeson, Sgt. Tim Schroeder and Officer Andrew Harren have each been awarded the Medal of Honor and the Lifesaving Award. Matson was also awarded the Medal of Honor.

The 2021 recipients will be formally recognized at the MCPA’s Annual Statewide Awards banquet on Nov. 2, 2021. A complete list of the 2020 MPCA award winners is as follows:

Distinguished Service Award:

  • Brooklyn Park Police Officer Matthew Rabe
  • Hibbing Police Officer Joey Burns
  • Savage Detective Pat Miller and Detective Gabe Kerkaert

Lifesaving Award:

  • Avon Police Chief Corey Nellis
  • Waseca Police Captain Kris Markeson, Sgt. Tim Schroeder and Officer Andrew Harren

Medal of Honor:

  • Bloomington Police Officer Mike Perron and Officer Carla Magaard
  • Brooklyn Park Officer Andrew McComb and Officer Eli Dwyer
  • Waseca Police Captain Kris Markeson, Sgt. Tim Schroeder, Officer Andrew Harren and Officer Arik Matson

Citizens Valor:

  • Spencer Notch, Avon Public Works

Officer of the Year:

  • Waseca Police Officer Arik Matson

Meritorious Service Award:

  • Burnsville Police Officer Adam Medlicott