All Minneapolis City Council results now in, Jenkins retains seat

Minneapolis City Council results in

Minneapolis City Council results in

With all of Minneapolis’ precincts reporting, the results of Tuesday’s municipal election are now in.

All but two of the 11 incumbent City Council members running for reelection had secured another term after the first ballot: Council President Andrea Jenkins (Ward 8) and Jamal Osman (Ward 6).

Ranked-choice tabulation began at 9 a.m. Wednesday for three seats located in Wards 6, 7 and 8.

In Ward 6, Osman held 44.6% of the vote in the first round of balloting, followed by Kayseh Magan with 30.1% and Tiger Worku with 21.8%. However, after tabulation on Wednesday, Osman was announced as the unofficial winner.

Meanwhile, in Ward 8, Jenkins was neck-and-neck with challenger Soren Stevenson, who held a 103-vote edge after the first ballot with 44.6% of the vote. By 11:30 a.m., Jenkins was declared the unofficial winner with receiving just 38 more votes than Stevenson.

In two races, incumbents opting not to run for reelection left wide-open seats.

Ward 7 — left vacant by longtime City Council Member Lisa Goodman — was tightly contested between candidates Katie Cashman and Scott Graham, with Cashman (48.4%) holding just a 61-vote lead over Graham (47.7%) after the first ballot. Cashman was declared the unofficial winner after tabulation was done Wednesday morning.

But in Ward 12 — formerly represented by City Council Member Andrew Johnson — Aurin Chowdhury (53.8%) won by more than 2,000 votes over runner-up Luther Ranheim (36.5%).

The following incumbent candidates won reelection to another term after one ballot:

  • Elliott Payne (Ward 1)
  • Robin Wonsley (Ward 2)
  • Michael Rainville (Ward 3)
  • Latrisha Vetaw (Ward 4)
  • Jeremiah Ellison (Ward 5)
  • Andrea Jenkins (Ward 8)
  • Jason Chavez (Ward 9)
  • Aisha Chughtai (Ward 10)
  • Emily Koski (Ward 11)
  • Linea Palmisano (Ward 13)

With all unofficial results now reported, the City Council – which sits as the Municipal Canvassing Board – will get the final tallies at its Nov. 13 meeting, which starts at 10 a.m. There, results will be certified before all results become official.