Hudson mayor retains seat, incumbent city councilor ousted

Hudson Mayor Rich O’Connor will serve another term after defeating challenger Liz Malanaphy during Tuesday’s election.

The uncanvassed results show O’Connor won the race with a total of 1,661 votes, while Malanaphy received 1,211 votes.

O’Connor was first elected as mayor in April of 2016.

Meanwhile, voters also voted for Joy Knudson to serve as the Alderperson for Hudson’s third district. Knudson defeated incumbent Paul Deziel by a vote of 327-286.

Deziel was first elected to the seat in April 2018, and his term ends this month.

Mike Kennedy, who ran for the village’s vacant District 4 seat, and Bill Alms, who ran for District 2, ran unopposed.

In addition, voters chose two school board members for the Hudson School District. The results show current board president Jamie Johnson and Rob Brown – who received 3,169 and 2,926 votes, respectively – defeated Micah Heisler and Ryan Wheeler.

Bruce Hanson, who serves as the board’s Vice President, announced in late December he would not be running for his seat again.

The results for the Hudson School Board election are currently scheduled to be canvassed on the morning of Monday, April 11.

You can find election results for all of St. Croix County below or here. Additional St. Croix County election notices can be found here.