Red flag warning issued for several southern Minnesota counties

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has issued a red flag warning for several counties in southern Minnesota and over 40 counties in Wisconsin.

A red flag warning means the potential for fires to start and rapidly spread is high. These weather conditions include dry air and gusty winds, which can turn a small fire into a wildfire. CLICK HERE for the latest weather conditions.

The warning is in place on Wednesday from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m., for Dodge, Filmore, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona counties. Meanwhile, in Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, and Martin counties, residents are under a red flag warning from 1 p.m. to 8 p.m. on Wednesday.

In Wisconsin, the DNR issued a red flag warning for 41 counties in central and southern parts of the state. Use this map to search for the fire risks in your county.

Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers signed Executive Order #191 on Wednesday, which declares a State of Emergency in response to the high risk of wildfire conditions.

The DNR has asked residents in counties under red flag warnings to avoid starting fires during this time.

“Any spark could become a wildfire under Red Flag conditions,” said Karen Harrison, DNR wildfire prevention specialist.

Burn permits will not be issued or activated during a red flag warning.

For more information on affected counties, visit the statewide fire danger and burning restrictions page on the DNR website.