More Minnesota counties added to spring restrictions

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources announced more counties have been added to burn restrictions, as fire season deepens and expands.

According to the DNR, Aitkin, Carlton and Pine counties have been added to the list as of Friday. The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until the restrictions are lifted.

Restrictions also remain in place for the following counties: Anoka, Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Cass, Chisago, Clay, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Ramsey, Red Lake, Roseau, Sherburne, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Washington, Wilkin and Wright.

More from KSTP:

Several cited after weekend brush fires

DNR adds 12 counties to burn restriction list

"Warm and dry conditions are key factors for wildfires, so we have to remain on alert about restricting open burning," said Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor. "These restrictions really do work: they’ve helped reduce wildfires by more than 30% over the past decade."

McCoy encourages landowners to compost, chip, or take brush to a collection site rather than burn it. For more information on how to compost yard waste, click here.

People who burn debris will be held financially responsible if their fire escapes and burns other property.