DNR warns of wildfire risk in several Minnesota counties

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has issued a fire danger warning Monday for multiple counties.

According to the department, the "Red Flag Warning" means an area is experiencing conditions that are ideal for wildfires, such as strong winds and low humidity.

The warning has been issued for the following counties:

Anoka, Benton, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Chisago, Dakota, Douglas, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Martin, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Nicollet, Pope, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wright and Yellow Medicine.

The Red Flag Warning expires at 6 p.m. Monday, according to the DNR.

Learn more about statewide fire danger and current burning restrictions here.