7 Minnesota counties receive agricultural disaster designation

Seven Minnesota counties have received an agricultural disaster designation by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Gov. Tim Walz announced Wednesday.

The designation will allow Beltrami, Clearwater, Kittson, Marshall, Nobles, Polk and Yellow Medicine counties to apply for disaster assistance. 

The designation is due to a number of weather-related incidents that occurred in August and November of 2019, including a tornado, high winds, excessive rain and flooding.