25 charged with violating Minnesota’s ‘stay at home’ order

More than two dozen people have been charged with violating Gov. Tim Walz’s ‘stay at home’ orders as of Tuesday, according to court data.

Walz has issued several orders in respose to the COVID-19 pandemic, and first put in place an order for Minnesotans to stay home on March 27. Last week, he extended that to May 4.

Full COVID-19 Coverage

While Walz and state leaders have said they didn’t want to charge or arrest anyone for violating the order, there are always exceptions. As of Tuesday, 25 people had been charged in the state with violating the order.

Those violations have occurred in Crow Wing, Dakota, Faribault, Freeborn, Hennepin, Mille Lacs, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Ramsey, Scott, Swift, Traverse, Washington and Watonwan counties, with Dakota accounting for the most violations (eight).

The charge is a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine or both.