Tornado watches for southern Minnesota cancelled

Tornado watches for southern Minnesota cancelled Photo: KSTP/File

Updated: July 18, 2019 09:53 PM

A tornado watch  issued for parts of southern Minnesota, as well as parts of eastern South Dakota and northern Iowa has been cancelled.

The National Weather Service (NWS) issued a tornado watch for the following counties until midnight: Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Steele, Waseca and Watonwan. However, those watches were cancelled shortly before 10 p.m.


A tornado warning was also issued for western Jackson County until 6:15 p.m., areas near Waseca, and near Truman and Northrop, until 7 p.m., for Martin and Faribault counties until 7:30 p.m., and for Murray County until 7:45 p.m., but those have since expired.

See the latest interactive radar

The NWS also issued a severe thunderstorm warning for Goodhue, Kenyon and Cannon Falls areas until 8 p.m. and for New Ulm, Madelia and Hanska areas until 8:15 p.m., as well as areas including Mapleton, Minnesota Lake and Pemberton until 6:30 p.m. All of those have since expired.

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.



Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Woman sexually assaulted by another woman at GOP booth at State Fair

Minneapolis home raided after repeated reports of alleged dogfighting operation

St. Paul mayor says November's trash collection vote could lead to property tax increase

A new Fire Station 1 in downtown Minneapolis is on the horizon

Markets tumble on growing tariffs rift between US, China

So Minnesota: Peacebunny Island