Tornado watches for southern Minnesota cancelled

Tornado watches for southern Minnesota cancelled Photo: KSTP/File

Updated: July 18, 2019 09:53 PM

A tornado watch  issued for parts of southern Minnesota, as well as parts of eastern South Dakota and northern Iowa has been cancelled.

The National Weather Service (NWS) issued a tornado watch for the following counties until midnight: Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Martin, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Steele, Waseca and Watonwan. However, those watches were cancelled shortly before 10 p.m.


A tornado warning was also issued for western Jackson County until 6:15 p.m., areas near Waseca, and near Truman and Northrop, until 7 p.m., for Martin and Faribault counties until 7:30 p.m., and for Murray County until 7:45 p.m., but those have since expired.

See the latest interactive radar

The NWS also issued a severe thunderstorm warning for Goodhue, Kenyon and Cannon Falls areas until 8 p.m. and for New Ulm, Madelia and Hanska areas until 8:15 p.m., as well as areas including Mapleton, Minnesota Lake and Pemberton until 6:30 p.m. All of those have since expired.

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.



Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


U of M Regents approve $500K salary for new provost despite pushback

Walz, Minneapolis City Council reaffirm support of refugee resettlement

Waconia student taken into custody after 'inappropriate video' posted on social media

St. Paul package thief leaves thank-you note for rightful recipient

Flashback Friday: Met Center demolished 25 years ago

UPDATE: House panel approves 2 impeachment charges against Trump