St. Cloud State Earns No.1 Overall Seed in NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Tournament

March 18, 2018 05:47 PM

Three Minnesota teams made the 16-team field for the NCAA Division I men's hockey tournament, but not the University of Minnesota.
The Gophers and another hockey powerhouse, the University of North Dakota, were not among tournament teams announced Sunday.
St. Cloud State, Minnesota State University and Minnesota Duluth will play in the West Regional at Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, on Friday and Saturday.

Click the video box on this page to see the announcement in St Cloud, and reaction from head coach Bob Motzko and the Huskies players
No. 1 seed SCSU plays No. 16 Air Force at 3 p.m. Friday. MSU, the No. 6 overall seed, plays No. 12 UMD at 6:30 p.m.
The regional championship is 8 p.m. Saturday on ESPN2. This year's West Regional is hosted by the University of North Dakota.
The Frozen Four is April 5 and 7 at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.



Associated Press

(Copyright 2018 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Minneapolis Police Investigating after Man Found Dead in Vehicle

Sunny, Mild Saturday after Stormy Friday

Swanson Stands by Running Mate Nolan Despite Pressure

Community Gathers at City Hall to Show Support for South St. Paul Police

X Games Layout Changes Throughout the Weekend

Frey says Body Camera Footage from Blevins Shooting Likely to be Released by End of July