MSHSL announces Section Classifications for 2019-20, 2020-21

MSHSL announces Section Classifications for 2019-20, 2020-21 Photo: Minnesota State High School League

April 04, 2019 05:55 PM

The Minnesota State High School League announced Competitive Section Assignments for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years.

The high school league re-aligns and re-classifies sections every two years.  There are no appeals once the final alignments are announced.


Class assignments are determined by school enrollment numbers, with consideration to teams and schools wishing to "play up" into larger classes.

Section assignments are then determined by geograhical grouping.  Level of competition is not factored into section assignments.

Here are some notable changes in several sports:

Girls Hockey


Section 6AA adds Minnetonka to Benilde-St Margaret's, Blake, Cretin-Derham Hall, Edina, Hopkins/Park, Osseo-Park Center, Wayzata.

Lakeville North departs Section 1AA to join 3AA along with Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Eastview, Hastings, Park and Rosemount.

Two teams elevate to Class AA from Class A: Alexandria, Waconia.

Four teams drop to Class AA from Class A: Armstrong/Cooper, Minnehaha, North St. Paul/Tartan, St Francis/North Branch.

Newly formed Winona/Cotter enters in Section 1A.

All changes:

  • Alexandria 6A to 8AA
  • East Ridge 3AA to 4AA
  • Lakeville North 1AA to 3AA
  • Minnehaha United 6AA to 4A
  • Minnetonka 2AA to 6AA 
  • North St Paul/Tartan 4AA to 4A
  • N. Wright County 8AA to 7AA
  • Robbinsdale Armstrong/Cooper 6AA to 5A
  • St. Francis/North Branch 7AA to 5A
  • Waconia 2A to 2AA
  • Winona/Cotter placed in 1A

Boys Hockey


Perennial Class A contender Totino-Grace moves to Class AA, joining Section 5AA with Blaine, Centennial, Champlin Park, Coon Rapids, Maple Grove, Osseo and Spring Lake Park.

Six teams drop from Class AA to Class A: Armstrong/Cooper, Cambridge-Isanti, Dodge County, N. St Paul, St. Francis, Tartan.

Two teams rise from Class A to Class AA: Northfield, Totino-Grace.

All changes:

  • Cambridge-Isanti 7AA to 5A
  • Dodge County 1AA to 1A
  • North St. Paul 4AA to 4A
  • Northfield 4A to 1AA
  • Robbinsdale Armstrong/Cooper 6AA to 2A
  • St. Francis 7AA to 5A
  • Tartan 4AA to 4A
  • Totino-Grace 4A to 5AA

Boys Basketball

8-time defending Section 1AAAA champions Lakeville North move to Section 3AAAA joining Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Eastview, Hastings, Park of Cottage Grove, Rosemount.

After winning three straight Class AA State titles, Minnehaha Academy elevates to Class AAA and will join Section 4AAA along with Columbia Heights, Hill-Murray, Mahtomedi, St. Anthony Village, St. Paul Como Park, St. Paul Johnson and Totino-Grace.

As with Girls Basketball and Girls Hockey, Lakeville North departs Section 1AAAA for Section 3AAAA to join Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Eastview, Hastings, Park and Rosemount.

Girls Basketball

The new alignment of Section 8AA brings three defending Section Champions togethet next year, assembling Bagley, Barnesville, Breckenridge, Crookston, Dilworth-Glyndon, East Grand Forks, Fergus Falls, Frazee, Hawly, Menagha, Park Rapids, Pelican Rapids, Perham, Roseau, Staples-Motley, Thief River Falls, Wadena-Deer Creek and Warroad into a single, loaded Section.

2018 State AAA Champion and 2019 State AAA Semifinalist Robbinsdale Cooper rises to Class AAAA joining an already-loaded Section 6 consisting of Hopkins, Mpls South, Mpls Southwest, Mpls Washburn, Robbinsdale Armstrong, St Louis Park and Wayzata.

As with Boys Basketball and Girls Hockey, Lakeville North departs Section 1AAAA for Section 3AAAA to join Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Eastview, Hastings, Park and Rosemount.


Highlighting the wrestling re-classifications aren't so much the changes as much as it is the changes that didn't happen, keeping some of the state's top programs in the same Sections.

Perennial Class AA title contenders Kasson-Mantorville and Simley remain rivals in Section 1AA.

Class AAA powerhouses Shakopee and Apple Valley will continue to compete against one another in Section 2AAA.


Along with new Section Classifications, the MSHSL also voted down a proposal to sanction boys volleyball as a varsity sport.

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.


Chris Long

Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


ACLU sues Worthington Police Department alleging brutality during arrest

Texas officer charged with murder, resigns after shooting

Showers, cool weather likely Tuesday

Minnesota Historical Society holds meeting to receive input on Fort Snelling name change

St. Louis Park couple charged after 1-year-old overdoses on fentanyl

Fairmont hires outside investigator to look at city's role in expiring cases