Vikings announce Steve Jordan as 2019 Ring of Honor inductee

June 12, 2019 06:06 PM

The Minnesota Vikings will induct former tight end Steve Jordan into the club's Ring of Honor in 2019.


Jordan will be inducted into the Ring of Honor during a halftime ceremony at the Vikings game against Washington on Thursday, October 24, at U.S. Bank Stadium, the team said in a release Wednesday. 

Click the video box on this page to see Steve Jordan's press conference after the Vikings minicamp session at the TCO Center in Eagan on Wednesday afternoon

"Steve Jordan's impact on the Vikings has carried on past his career on the field," said Owner/President Mark Wilf. "As great a player as Steve was, he is just as great an ambassador for the Vikings and the game of football. He is a positive role model to young NFL players about the value of education and how to use your platform for good."

Jordan was originally a 7th-round pick (#179 overall) by the Vikings in 1982 and played 13 seasons for the club, 1982-94, capping his career with 498 catches, 6,307 yards and 28 TDs. He ranks 3rd in team history with 498 catches, trailing only Cris Carter (1,004) and Randy Moss (587), and played in 176 career games for the club with 149 starts, ranking 14th in team history for games played and 5th among offensive skill position players (Cris Carter-188, Jim Kleinsasser-181, Bill Brown-180, Fran Tarkenton-177). Jordan was also selected to 6 consecutive Pro Bowls: 1986, '87, '88, '89, '90 and '91. In that 6-season span Jordan led all NFL TEs with 287 receptions, 3,885 yards and was 3rd among NFL TEs with 21 TDs. The only offensive players in team history with more Pro Bowl appearances than Jordan are Randall McDaniel (11), Cris Carter (8), Ron Yary (7) and Adrian Peterson (7).

In his final 9 seasons (1986-94), Jordan went to 6 Pro Bowls, won 3 NFC Central titles, made 6 playoff appearances, advanced to the 1987 NFC Championship Game and suffered only 1 losing season. At the time of his retirement in 1994, only Ozzie Newsome and Kellen Winslow had caught more passes as an NFL TE than Jordan's 498.

The addition of Jordan brings the Vikings Ring of Honor to 25 members. Current members include: Fran Tarkenton, Alan Page, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Fred Zamberletti, Jim Marshall, Ron Yary, Korey Stringer, Mick Tingelhoff, Carl Eller, Cris Carter, Bill Brown, Jerry Burns, Randall McDaniel, Chuck Foreman, John Randle, Scott Studwell, Chris Doleman, Matt Blair, Joey Browner, Ahmad Rashad, Randy Moss and Dennis Green.

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.



Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


MDH reports 730 new COVID-19 cases, 17 new deaths

Minneapolis 911 lines down; residents asked to call alternate line

Blue-green algae warning at 3 lakes in Minneapolis after dog's death

COVID crisis affecting tourism in Minnesota as summer kicks off

Minnesotans remember those who served our nation on Memorial Day weekend

Severe thunderstorm watch expected Sunday afternoon