Thompson, Wendell-Pohl Head 2017 MSHSL Hall of Fame Class

Darrell Thompson Photo: KSTP
Darrell Thompson

August 17, 2017 04:37 PM

Former Gophers football star Darrell Thompson and two-time U.S. Olympian Krissy Wendell-Pohl lead the list of this year's inductees into the Minnesota State High School League's Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will be held at 1 p.m. Oct. 22 at the InterContinental St. Paul Riverfront Hotel. The event is open to the public. Tickets can be obtained on the league's website by clicking on the 2017 Hall of Fame Invitation link or by calling (763) 560-2262.


Minnesota Moment: Prep Coaching Icons Begin Another Season in Becker, Brainerd

Thompson was a star running back at both Rochester John Marshall and the University of Minnesota. Wendell-Pohl was a standout hockey player at Park Center who went on to lead the Gophers to a pair of national titles and played for the U.S. in the 2002 and 2006 Olympics.

The other inductees are former Windom track and field star Heather Van Norman, high school officiating veterans Richard Eldridge, Larry Gallagher and Harry Kits, longtime Becker football coach Dwight Lundeen, former Wayzata cross country and track and field coach Bill Miles, longtime Rochester Lourdes activities director Marv Peters, MSHSL administrator Kevin Merkle, longtime speech and debate coach Todd Hering and choral music fixture Bruce Phelps.



Copyright 2017 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Minneapolis Police Investigating after Man Found Dead in Vehicle

Wetterling Attorney: No Appeal, Case Made Public

Funeral Service Planned for Stillwater Corrections Officer

Sunny, Mild Saturday after Stormy Friday

Swanson Stands by Running Mate Nolan Despite Pressure

Community Gathers at City Hall to Show Support for South St. Paul Police