Breck beats Warroad for back-to-back Class A Girls Hockey State Championships

February 23, 2019 08:21 PM

For the third time, #2 Breck School (22-8) has been crowned MSHSL Class A Girls’ Hockey Tournament champion, defeating #1 Warroad (28-1-1) 6-1 on Saturday evening at Xcel Energy Center.

Breck broke open a close 3-1 contest with three goals in a span of 1:23 of elapsed time in the 13th and 14th minute of play.


The Mustangs repeat as state champions, also winning the title in 2012 while earning runner-up finishes with state title appearances in 2007 and 2008. Overall, Breck has reached the state title five times in seven trips to the state tournament.

The Warriors finish as state runner-up for the fifth time while the program has reached the state title game seven times in 10 state tournament appearances since 2006.

Senior forward Carly Beniek started the scoring in the 14th minute of play before Warroad junior forward Marlie Johnston tied it up just over a minute and a half later.

In the fifth minute of the second period, Breck went back on top with eight grade defender Elly Klepinger’s goal.

The score remained 2-1 through the end of the second period, with Breck extending the lead to 3-1 on junior forward Olivia Mobley’s goal in the third minute of the third period.

The game remained tight until late when Breck scored three goals in a span of 1:23 starting with sophomore forward Sadie Lindsay’s penalty shot at 12:16. Beniek added her second goal of the game and third of the tournament at 13:12 on an empty net before junior forward Ashley Halverson scored just 27 seconds later to push the lead to 6-1.

Beniek had seven points in the tournament to earn All-Tournament Team honors along with Mobley who also had seven points (5g, 2a). 

Breck eighth grade goalie Uma Corniea joined them on the team, playing two of the three games in net including the title game. In two games, she allowed two goals while saving 68 shots including 41 in the state championship. 

Senior defender Katherine Solohub, who scored in the quarterfinal win, was named the Herb Brooks Award winner after the game and also earned All-Tournament Team honors.

The Warriors were represented on the All-Tournament Team by sophomore forward Genevieve Hendrickson (5g, 1a), senior defender Kaitlyn Kotlowski (1g, 2a), junior forward Hannah Corneliusen (3g, 2a) and senior goalie Quinn Kuntz (76 saves, 7 GA).

Courtesy: Minnesota State High School League

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.


Chris Long

Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Shooting kills 1 in south Minneapolis

Little-known federal program gives Minnesota leg up in responding to COVID-19

State officials work to ensure Minnesotans have health coverage during pandemic

Tax increase possible in Bloomington as city faces financial blow from COVID-19