Walz authorizes disaster assistance for 5 counties

Rising water levels in Oslo on April 8, 2020. Photo: Oslo Mayor Erika Martens. Rising water levels in Oslo on April 8, 2020.

Josh Skluzacek
Updated: July 24, 2020 04:58 PM
Created: July 24, 2020 04:56 PM

Gov. Tim Walz on Friday authorized emergency disaster assistance for five Minnesota counties that were damaged by flooding from March through May.

The five counties are Hubbard, Kittson, Marshall, Norman and Polk counties.


"One Minnesota means we come together to provide support when we see a community in need," Walz said. "We will work closely with these counties to provide disaster assistance and ensure they quickly recover from this flooding."

The authorization allows the State Disaster Assistance Contingency Account to cover 75% of all eligible costs, totaling an estimated $1.4 million for the counties.

Copyright 2020 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook

West metro police agencies launch diversion program for runaway youth

Road construction ending for the season on I-94 from Rogers to Maple Grove

Senate candidate Jason Lewis out of hospital after 2-night stay

'It was crazy': 3 rescue a trio of victims from a Golden Valley house fire

Minneapolis survey shows strong desire to reopen so-called 'autonomous zone' in Minneapolis

KSTP/SurveyUSA: Biden narrowly leading Minnesota in election's home stretch