Senate DFL launches Clean Energy and Climate Caucus

Senate DFL launches Clean Energy and Climate Caucus Photo: KSTP

Updated: December 10, 2019 12:28 PM

DFL members of the Minnesota Senate have announced a new statewide Clean Energy and Climate Caucus to focus on growing clean energy combatting the effects of climate change.

The DFL said the caucus will work to give more Minnesotans a voice in the legislative process and promote legislation encouraging clean energy innovation. The party also pointed at Senate Republicans for not holding any public hearings on climate change since they took the majority in the Senate in 2017.


"Minnesotans are demanding we act on climate change. We can't continue to kick the climate can down the road," said Sen. Nick Frentz (DFL-North Mankato), who will chair the new caucus. "It's 2019, and we're seeing wildfires, flooding, and catastrophic storms across the globe. Here in Minnesota we've seen damage caused to farms by unprecedented amounts of rain in a short time. We need a public hearing in the Minnesota Senate to discuss proposals to help grow our clean energy economy and combat climate change."

The caucus plans to hold public listening sessions, meet to discuss legislative advocacy, and work to amplify the voices of Minnesotans who want to see the state take action on climate change, according to the DFL.

Caucus members include:

  • Sen. Tom Bakk, Cook
  • Sen. Karla Bigham, Cottage Grove
  • Sen. Jim Carlson, Eagan
  • Sen. Bobby Joe Champion, Minneapolis
  • Sen. Greg Clausen, Apple Valley
  • Sen. Dick Cohen, Saint Paul
  • Sen. Steve Cwodzinski, Eden Prairie
  • Sen. Scott Dibble, Minneapolis
  • Sen. Kari Dziedzic, Minneapolis
  • Sen. Chris Eaton, Brooklyn Center
  • Sen. Melisa Franzen, Edina
  • Sen. Nick Frentz, North Mankato
  • Sen. Foung Hawj, Saint Paul
  • Sen. Jeff Hayden, Minneapolis
  • Sen. John Hoffman, Champlin
  • Sen. Jason Isaacson, Shoreview
  • Sen. Susan Kent, Woodbury
  • Sen. Matt Klein, Mendota Heights
  • Sen. Carolyn Laine, Columbia Heights
  • Sen. Ron Latz, St. Louis Park
  • Sen. Matt Little, Lakeville
  • Sen. John Marty, Roseville
  • Sen. Jerry Newton, Coon Rapids
  • Sen. Sandy Pappas, Saint Paul
  • Sen. Ann Rest, New Hope
  • Sen. Erik Simonson, Duluth
  • Sen. Patricia Torres Ray, Minneapolis
  • Sen. Chuck Wiger, Maplewood
  • Sen. Melissa Wiklund, Bloomington

The first Senate DFL Clean Energy and Climate Caucus meeting will be held in January.

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.



Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Trump nominates Amy Coney Barrett for US Supreme Court

MDH: 1,478 newly-reported COVID-19 cases, state surpasses 2,000 total deaths

Minnesota Department of Health criticized after changing COVID-19 hospitalization data