Progressives beat Democratic incumbents in Minnesota state legislative races

Updated: August 12, 2020 07:33 PM
Created: August 11, 2020 11:27 PM

Challengers have defeated four incumbent Democratic legislators in Minnesota's primaries as the progressive wing of the party shows its strength.

Sen. Erik Simonson of Duluth lost to Jen McEwen, who campaigned against copper-nickel mining and an oil pipeline project that he supports.

Rep. Ray Dehn lost to Esther Agbaje in a Minneapolis race. Rep. John Lesch lost to Athena Hollins in St. Paul.

And veteran Sen. Jeff Hayden, who was active in passing police accountability legislation, conceded Wednesday to self-described democratic socialist Omar Fateh in the Minneapolis district where George Floyd was killed.

Copyright 2020 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook

COVID-19 in Minnesota: 18 new deaths, 851 cases reported

Study set in Wisconsin schools suggests safety precautions lead to minimal viral spread

COVID-19 vaccine lottery underway for Minnesotans 65 and up

New strains of COVID-19 emerge, health officials explain the virus variants

Biden aims for most ambitious US effort on climate change

Minnesota lawmakers to reintroduce sports betting bill