Election Results: Amy Klobuchar Re-Elected to U.S. Senate

November 06, 2018 09:36 PM

Update: 8:40 p.m.

Democratic Sen. Amy Klobuchar has easily won a third term in Minnesota.


Klobuchar defeated Republican state Rep. Jim Newberger on Tuesday. It comes as Klobuchar's name swirls amid the crop of potential Democratic presidential candidates for 2020.


Update: 8:20 p.m.

As of 8:20 p.m., Sen. Amy Klobuchar is leading the race with 7,828 votes, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State's office.

Jim Newberger is trailing with 4,064 votes. 

According to the Secretary of State's office, a total of 11 precincts have reported results.  

Voters went to the polls Tuesday, casting their ballots to determine both of Minnesota's U.S. Senators. 

In the race always scheduled for this year, Democratic incumbent Amy Klobuchar was taking on Republican Jim Newberger.

Senate Race Coverage

Klobuchar - a former Hennepin County Attorney - was first elected in 2006 and is seen as the favorite in the race.

Newberger is a member of the State House.

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.


Frank Rajkowski

Copyright 2018 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Work group to go over Minneapolis charter amendment proposal amid police reform discussions

5 INVESTIGATES: Juul recruited U of M researcher as vaping controversy intensified

Semi blocks portion of road in Edina following crash

Lois Riess to make first appearance in Minnesota court

Police: 12-year-old shot in Minneapolis following road rage incident

Private schools, law firms among biggest PPP loan recipients in Minnesota