At Issue: Dec. 23 - Walz names first group of commissioners, Twins' Diamond Awards

December 23, 2018 07:07 PM

Walz names first group of commissioners

Governor-elect Tim Walz has named his first eight commissioners this week. In total, Walz will need to fill a total of 23 commissioner positions, leading a variety of state agencies. 

  • Administration: Alice Roberts-Davis
  • Corrections: Paul Schnell
  • Education: Mary Cathryn Ricker
  • Higher Education: Dennis Olson, Jr. 
  • Housing Finance Agency: Jennifer Ho
  • Management and Budget: Myron Frans
  • Metropolitan Council: Nora Slawik
  • Transportation: Margaret Anderson Kelliher

More commissioners will be named in the coming weeks. Commissioners must be approved by the Minnesota Senate. 

Twins Diamond Awards set for Jan. 24

Each January, the Minnesota Twins host the Diamond Awards. The event honors current, former and future players while also raising money for the University of Minnesota's Medical Foundation to research treatments and cures for diseases like ALS, Parkinson's and multiple sclerosis.

Twins announcer Dick Bremer and Mark Allison from the Bob Allison Ataxia Research Center joined Tom Hauser in studio to discuss the event and the great causes it supports. 

2019 Twins Diamond Awards

  • Thursday, January 24 @ 5:30 p.m.
  • The Depot, Minneapolis
  • Individual Tickets: $150 ($90 Tax-Deductible)

Click here for more information on the Diamond Awards. 

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.


Amanda Theisen

Copyright 2018 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


Rain on Monday will give way to a little bit of sunshine

Long Procession Escorts Body of Fallen Minnesota Conservation Officer Back Home

10-year-old Prince fan battling cancer surprised with trip to Minnesota

2 killed in St. Francis crash

St. Paul man survives home explosion and fire thanks to courageous neighbors