2020 Minnesota Congressional District election updates | KSTP.com

2020 Minnesota Congressional District election updates

Updated: November 04, 2020 09:58 AM
Created: November 03, 2020 05:29 PM

Follow the latest updates regarding Minnesota's congressional district races below.

U.S. House races

District 1 — Dan Feehan (DFL) vs. Jim Hagedorn (GOP)

  • As of 1:06 a.m. Wednesday, Hagedorn leads Feehan 48.7% to 45.5%. The Minnesota Secretary of State's website reports that 652 of 697 (93.5%) of precincts are reporting. 

District 2 — Angie Craig (DFL) vs. Tyler Kistner (GOP)

  • Rep. Angie Craig declared victory on Wednesday morning, but the 2nd Congressional District has not yet been officially called. She released a statement, which says in part: "I am so grateful to the people of this district for giving me an opportunity to return to Congress to continue this important work – and I look forward to fighting for them in the 117th Congress.”
  • As of about 4 a.m. Wednesday, with 100% of precincts reporting, Democrat incumbent Angie Craig leads Republican Tyler Kistner 48% to 46% in an incredibly close race.
  • As of 12:36 a.m. Wednesday, Craig leads Kistner 47.03% to 46.99%. The Minnesota Secretary of State's website reports that 289 of 289 (100%) of precincts are reporting. Craig leads by 154 single votes.

District 3 — Dean Phillips (DFL) vs. Kendall Qualls (GOP)

  • As of 8:46 p.m., the Associated Press declares that Dean Phillips has won reelection to the U.S. House in the Third Congressional District in Minnesota. As of 10 p.m., Phillips held 55.6% of the vote, compared to Johnson's 44.4%.

Dean Phillips released the following statement Tuesday night: 

"Tonight, our community chose optimism over fear, conversation over chaos, and decency over division. This is the best job I have ever had, and I am honored to have the opportunity to represent such a civically-engaged district for another two years. 

"We won this election not by destroying my opponent, but by extending invitations -- to everybody. I share with this community a pragmatic head, a progressive heart, and the belief that the United States will not live up to its potential and promise until every American is afforded equal opportunity and equal justice under the law. 

As I have for the past two years, I will work with both Democrats AND Republicans to restore Americans' faith in our government by reducing the corrupting influence of special interest money in politics, increasing transparency and accountability, and ensuring that power is returned to where it belongs - with the American people."

District 4 — Betty McCollum (DFL) vs. Gene Rechtzigel (GOP)

  • As of 11:50 p.m., the Associated Press reports that Betty McCollum will retain her seat in the Fourth Congressional District. As of 11:29 p.m., McCollum held a 63.2% to 29.1% advantage. 

District 5 — Ilhan Omar (DFL) vs. Lacy Johnson (GOP)

  • As of 8:44 p.m., the Associated Press declares that Ilhan Omar has won reelection to the U.S. House in the Fifth Congressional District in Minnesota. As of 10 p.m., Omar held 64.4% of the vote, compared to Johnson's 25.8%.

Omar released the following statement Tuesday night:

"Two years ago we made history in Minnesota, and changed the politics of Washington.

"We shifted the narrative of who can serve in Congress. We changed rules and so that a Muslim woman with a hijab can vote on the House floor We held a corrupt president accountable. And we made it possible for generations more who look like us to serve.

"But most importantly: we built solidarity.

"We invited people—not corporations or special interests—to set the agenda and changed the politics of what is possible. We centered marginalized people in our politics. We didn't allow fear and hatred to divide us - because we know that my destiny, your destiny and the destiny of workers around the world is linked. And true democracy means self determination for millions of working class people across this country.

"Tonight's results are an affirmation of our agenda.

"This is all possible because we met people where they are. It's about building relationships and trust with people. Not transactional politics but transformational politics that creates transformative change. 

"Along with the DFL, our campaign made over 1.4 million outreach attempts through phones, texts, and in person outreach. Because of those efforts, we are on track to turn out more votes than in any election ever recorded in the Fifth. That is what happens when we prioritize solidarity and connection over fear and isolation.

"But our work does not end here. It will take all of us to transform our vision into reality. It will require solidarity like we've never seen before.

"Now is our chance to ensure that people are not economically exploited with poverty wages by raising the minimum wage to 15 dollars an hour. Now is our chance to make millionaires and billionaires pay their fair share in taxes. Now is our chance to guarantee paid sick and safe time for working people across the country. Now is our chance to center people's material needs in our politics—needs like breathable air, an end to endless wars, and investment in our schools.

"The people who are telling you that we are somehow radical for wanting to feed our children, house our families, and make sure we have a livable planet are not the ones who are putting America first.

"The real America First Agenda is one that puts all people first.

"We are building a movement that sees my oppression as inherently tied to your oppression, and sees a world where all workers can be uplifted. Together.

"Today's vote, the results of this election, is not the end, it is just the beginning."

District 6 — Tawnja Zahradka (DFL) vs. Tom Emmer (GOP)

  • As of 9:53 p.m., the Associated Press declares that Tom Emmer has won reelection to the U.S. House in the Sixth Congressional District in Minnesota. As of 10:05 p.m., Emmer held 64% of the vote, compared to Zahradka's 36.2%.

The Minnesota GOP issued the following statement regarding Emmer's win Tuesday night:

"Congressman Tom Emmer showed again today how committed he is to his constituents in the sixth district and how strongly they believe in him. Tom is a rising star in the Republican Party, yet remains grounded in Delano and Minnesota's core values. We look forward to his continued leadership in Congress and in Minnesota."

District 7 — Collin Peterson (DFL) vs. Michelle Fischbach (GOP)

  • As of 12:39 a.m., the Associated Press reports that Michelle Fischbach has won the Seventh Congressional seat. As of 12:36 a.m., Fischbach held 53.8% of the vote, compared to Peterson's 39.6%.

District 8 — Quinn Nystrom (DFL) vs. Pete Stauber (GOP)

  • As of 11:50 p.m., the Associated Press reports that Pete Stauber will retain his seat in the Eighth Congressional District. As of 11:46 p.m., Stauber held the advantage, 54.5% to 40.1% of the vote. 

KSTP's complete election coverage

Copyright 2020 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook

5 injured in house explosion in Cambridge, Minnesota

Fatal crash closes portion of Highway 100 northbound Saturday night

Experts say colder weather may mean an uptick in COVID-19 cases this winter

12-year-old boy shot on east side of St. Paul

Police federation says St. Paul vaccine mandate could cause more staffing issues