Advertisement

New law allowing citations to slow drivers in left lane goes into effect Aug. 1

New law allowing citations to slow drivers in left lane goes into effect Aug. 1 Photo: MGN Images

June 06, 2019 02:13 PM

Along with the hands-free bill, the "slowpoke" left lane law will also go into effect on Aug. 1. The law allows traffic citations to be issued to drivers who refuse to move over for vehicles traveling faster.

Senator John Jasinski (R-Faribault) is the chief author of the "slowpoke" bill, which would impose a minimum $100 fine for those driving too slowly in the left lane.

Advertisement

RELATED STORIES:

Walz announces all 13 budget bills have been signed into law

Walz signs bill requiring drivers to use hands-free devices


It is the law in Minnesota for motorists to move over for faster-moving vehicles, but fines aren't currently allowed in the law. That will all change in August, when drivers could face up to a $125 fine.

Speeding, however, is not allowed. The new law will only result in a ticket if drivers in the left lane are slowed below the speed limit by another driver who doesn't move over.

Connect with KSTP


Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.

Credits

KSTP

Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Advertisement

Texas officer charged with murder, resigns after shooting

St. Louis Park couple charged after 1-year-old overdoses on fentanyl

Fairmont hires outside investigator to look at city's role in expiring cases

Minnesota lawmakers unveil plan for legislation aimed at robocalls

Man charged in connection to shooting of South St. Paul officers pleads guilty

High school football player who collapsed on field died of congenital heart disease

Advertisement