DPS: Spring flooding now affecting 39 Minnesota counties

DPS: Spring flooding now affecting 39 Minnesota counties Photo: KSTP/ Alex Jokich

March 26, 2019 05:52 AM

According to an update from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, 39 of Minnesota's 87 counties are now affected by some form of spring flooding.

It's an increase from the 34 counties experiencing flooding reported last week.


So far, 13 counties have declared local emergencies, with is up from 10 counties last week. Those counties are Big Stone, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Jackson, Lac Qui Parle, Martin, Nobles, Norman, Rock, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

The DPS states a number of cities have also declared local emergencies, including St. Paul and Moorhead.

KSTP's spring flooding coverage

More from

Flooding continues on the Minnesota River

Minnesota officials to visit Hastings, help residents prepare for flooding

Flooding preparations continue in St. Paul

Flooding impact continues to be felt across Minnesota

Moorhead latest to declare flood emergency

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.


Rebecca Omastiak

Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


UPDATE: Arrest made in connection with a homicide in St. Paul Friday night

Challenger Learning Center of Minnesota Celebrates 50th Anniversary of Moon Landing

Nation celebrates 50th anniversary of 1st lunar footsteps

Severe weather moves through Minnesota, Wisconsin

Celebrate the moon landing with Minnesota moon rocks, Apollo movie

So Minnesota: Largest crow statue in the world