24 Minnesota counties added to burn restriction list

24 Minnesota counties added to burn restriction list Photo: KSTP/ File

April 29, 2019 08:14 AM

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has added several more counties to the burn restriction list.

Those counties are: Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clay, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Ottertail, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, St. Louis South, Wadena, and Wilkin.


DNR officials said the state will not issue burn permits in those counties until the restrictions are lifted.

"Warm and dry conditions are key factors for wildfires, so we have to remain vigilant about restricting open burning," Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor, said in a statement. "These restrictions really do work: they've helped us reduce wildfires by more than 30 percent over the past decade."

Those who have brush or yard waste are asked to compost, chip or take those items to a collection site instead of burning them.

RELATED: DNR: Spring burning restrictions in place across Minnesota

Connect with KSTP

Join the conversation on our social media platforms. Share your comments on our Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter pages.


Rebecca Omastiak

Copyright 2019 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company


2 Clayton School District students killed in Polk County crash

Man accused of abducting children in Cottage Grove pleads guilty

Minneapolis police plan extra patrols downtown during Twins playoff push

Man in custody after spree of bank robberies in Minnesota, Wisconsin

Health officials investigating 11 cases of E. coli O157 linked to State Fair

Metro psychiatrist charged with criminal sexual conduct involving a patient