Gophers’ Meyers, Minnesota State’s McKay named Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalists

Two Minnesota men’s hockey players are going to the Frozen Four as Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalists.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee announced the three finalists Thursday, with Minnesota State’s Dryden McKay and Denver’s Bobby Brink the other finalists.

Meyers, a Delano native, was named the Big Ten Player of the Year earlier this month. McKay, of Downers Grove, Ill., was also named the Central Collegiate Hockey Association Player of the Year earlier this month.

Brink, by the way, is a Minnetonka, Minn. native who was named the National Collegiate Hockey Conference Player of the Year earlier this month.

Meyers’ Gophers and McKay’s Mavericks are set to face each other on April 7 in the Frozen Four semifinals. Brink’s Denver squad will play Michigan, with the winners facing off on April 9 in the championship game.