Burning restrictions take effect in Minnesota due to ongoing drought, increased wildfire risk

Due to an ongoing drought and an increased risk for wildfires, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has expanded burning restrictions across portions of the central and northern parts of the state beginning on Tuesday.

The restrictions cover 34 counties where intensifying drought has elevated the potential for devastating wildfires, according to the DNR.

The restrictions reflect on-the-ground conditions and wildland fire response capacity as assessed on a county-by-county basis. Under the DNR’s latest order, some counties are seeing burning restrictions for the first time this year while some are seeing increased restrictions and others are continuing with their previous level of restriction.

Open burning and some campfires are restricted in: Clay, Douglas, Grant, Kittson, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Sherburne and Wright counties and the western portion of Roseau County. Those restrictions remain in Aitkin, Benton, Carlton, Lake of the Woods, Morrison, Todd and Stearns counties, as well as the eastern portion of Roseau County and the southern portion of St. Louis County.

Additional restrictions are also in place for Becker, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Mahnomen, Otter Tail, the northern portion of St. Louis and Wadena counties.

For more information, click here.