2-time Daytona 500 winner Kenseth inducted into Hall of Fame

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) — Two-time Daytona 500 champion Matt Kenseth was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Friday night, along with longtime driver Hershel McGriff and crew chief Kirk Shelmerdine. The 50-year-old Kenseth drove 18 full seasons on the NASCAR circuit before retiring in 2020 with 39 Cup victories and 20 poles. Kenseth ranks 21st on NASCAR’s career wins list. He won all of the sport’s biggest races including the Daytona 500 in 2009 and 2012, the Coca-Cola 600, the Southern 500 and the All-Star race. Mike Helton was inducted as the Landmark Award winner for outstanding contributions to the sport. Photographer T. Taylor Warren was named the recipient of the 2023 Squier-Hall Award.

Copyright 2023 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.