Once 4-time Runners-Up, Eden Prairie Now Back-To-Back Boys Lacrosse Champs

Updated: 06/17/2014 7:44 PM
Created: 06/17/2014 7:31 PM
By: KSTP Sports

Entering the 2013 season, Eden Prairie was on a run of four consecutive losses in State Boys Lacrosse title games.  Now, they're on a run of two straight Championships.

Eden Prairie repeated as state champs with a 13-11 victory over top-seed Rosemount in the Championship.

Click the video box on this page to see extended highlights of the Minnesota State Boys Lacrosse Championship game between Rosemount and Eden Prairie

After the game had been postponed twice and moved to their title-game opponent's home field, Eden Prairie appeared to be in trouble as Rosemount scored three unanswered goals in the first quarter to take an early 3-1 lead.  But Eden Prairie scored five of the game's next six goals to take a 6-4 lead into halftime.

After the teams exchanged goals early in the third quarter to make it 8-6 Eden Prairie, each team went on a prolonged goal-scoring binge.

Rosemount scored four straight times to surge to a 10-8 lead, but Eden Prairie took the lead back for good by answering with a 5-goal flurry that included Sean Patterson's fifth and game-high sixth goal of the game.

Click here to see the official Championship game box score

Sophomore J.D. Spielman and freshman Nick Leiverman scored twice each for the Eagles.

Matt Johnson and Trent Woodcock scored three each for Rosemount.

Max Fahey made eleven saves in earning the win for Eden Prairie while Shaun Skrbc has ten stops for Rosemount.

Eden Prairie earns a third state boys lacrosse title in a sixth-straight championship game appearance.

Minneapolis/St. Paul

Scattered Clouds
84° | 65°
  • Feels like: 79° F
  • Wind: 0mph
  • Humidity: 38%