WEATHER ALERT - Minnesota:

This Date in Baseball

Created: 10/30/2015 11:52 PM
By: By The Associated Press

Nov. 1

1914 — Connie Mack of the Philadelphia A's citing a loss of $50,000 for lack of fan support starts to clean house by waiving Jack Coombs, Eddie Plank and Chief Bender. Plank and Bender eventually signed with the Federal League.

1916 — New York theater owner and producer Harry H. Frazee bought the Boston Red Sox for $675,000.

1938 — Ernie Lombardi of Cincinnati won the National League MVP award. Lombardi led the league in batting with a .342 mark.

1951 — Brooklyn's Roy Campanella won the first of three National League MVP awards. The Dodger catcher hit .325 with 33 homers and 108 RBIs.

1966 — Sandy Koufax of Los Angeles became the first three-time winner of the Cy Young Award. This was the last year there was one selection from both leagues.

1968 — Detroit's Denny McLain, the last 30-game winner in major league history, was the unanimous winner of the American League Cy Young award.

1978 — New York's Ron Guidry, 25-3, was the unanimous winner of the American League Cy Young award. Guidry led the league in shutouts (9) and ERA (1.79).

1979 — Edward Bennett Williams purchased the Baltimore Orioles for $12.3 million.

2001 — Scott Brosius hit a game-tying two-run homer with two out in the ninth inning and Alfonso Soriano singled home the winning run in the 12th inning to give New York a 3-2 victory over Arizona and a 3-2 lead in the World Series. The Yankees became the first team in postseason history to win two straight games when trailing after eight innings. It was their World Series-record 10th successive win at home. Byung-Hyun Kim gave up the game-tying home run with two outs in the bottom of the ninth for the second straight game.

2006 — Reliever Guillermo Mota was suspended for 50 games after testing positive for a performance-enhancing substance, becoming the third player penalized this year for violating Major League Baseball's toughened drug policy.

2010 — The San Franciso Giants beat the Texas Rangers 3-1 in a tense Game 5 to bring a World Series title to the city by the Bay for the first time. Tim Lincecum and Edgar Renteria gave the Giants their first crown since 1954, four years before they moved West. Lincecum outdueled Cliff Lee in a matchup that was scoreless until Renteria earned the Series MVP award by hitting a stunning three-run homer with two outs in the seventh inning.

Today's birthdays: Masahiro Tanaka 27; Steve Geltz 28; Paulo Orlando 30; Steven Vogt 31; Coco Crisp 36.

Nov. 2

1913 — St. Louis Browns manager George Stovall became the first to jump to the Federal League, signing to manage Kansas City.

1934 — William Heydler resigned as NL president due to poor health.

1937 — Detroit second baseman Charlie Gehringer, who led the American League in batting with a .371 average, was the league's most valuable player.

1938 — Jimmie Foxx of the Boston Red Sox won his third American League MVP award. Foxx hit 50 homers and drove in 175 runs, while batting .349 with 139 runs scored. He won in 1932 and 1933 with the Philadelphia A's.

1950 — Philadelphia's Jim Konstanty became the first pitcher in eight years to win the National League MVP award.

1960 — Roger Maris beat teammate Mickey Mantle by three votes, 225-222, to win the second closest American League MVP vote ever. The closest MVP race occurred in 1947, when Joe DiMaggio edged Ted Williams by a single vote.

1971 — Baltimore's Pat Dobson pitched a 2-0 no-hitter against the Yomiuri Giants. It was the first no-hitter in Japanese-American exhibition history.

1972 — Steve Carlton, a 27-game winner for the last-place 59-97 Philadelphia Phillies, was the unanimous winner of the National League Cy Young award winner. Carlton went 27-10 with a 1.97 ERA and accounted for 46 percent of the team's wins.

1974 — The Atlanta Braves traded Hank Aaron to the Milwaukee Brewers for outfielder Dave May.

2009 — Chase Utley hit two home runs to raise his World Series total to a record-tying five, Cliff Lee won again and the Philadelphia Phillies staved off elimination with an 8-6 victory over the New York Yankees in Game 5. Utley hit a go-ahead, three-run homer in the first off A.J. Burnett and added a solo shot in the seventh. He joined Reggie Jackson as the only players to hit five home runs in a single World Series.

Today's birthdays: Tommy Layne 31; Yunel Escobar 33.

Nov. 3

1926 — Ty Cobb resigned as Detroit manager and announced his retirement from baseball.

1934 — Mickey Cochrane of Detroit beat Triple Crown winner Lou Gehrig for the American League MVP award. Dizzy Dean of St. Louis, with a 30-7 record, was named NL MVP.

1953 — The sacrifice fly rule was reinstated. A sac fly would not be charged as an at-bat.

1953 — Despite winning the Triple Crown, Boston's Ted Williams finished second in American League Most Valuable voting, 21 votes behind New York Yankee second baseman Joe Gordon.

1965 — Sandy Koufax of Los Angeles won the Cy Young award with a unanimous vote. Koufax went 26-8 with a 2.04 ERA and a record 382 strikeouts.

1970 — Bob Gibson of St. Louis won the National League Cy Young Award. The Cardinals pitcher finished with a 23-7 record.

1981 — Rollie Fingers of the Milwaukee Brewers won the American League Cy Young award. Fingers, the first reliever to win the AL award, had 28 saves and a 1.04 ERA and collected 22 of 28 first-place votes.

1987 — Oakland's Mark McGwire won the American League Rookie of the Year unanimously. McGwire set a rookie record with 49 home runs.

2006 — Pitcher Greg Maddux won his 16th Gold Glove, tying the record shared by pitcher Jim Kaat and third baseman Brooks Robinson.

Today's birthdays: Kyle Seager 28; Alex Wilson 29.

Nov. 4

1942 — For the second straight year Boston's Ted Williams finished second in the MVP voting to a New York Yankee. Williams, despite hitting for the Triple Crown with 36 home runs, 137 RBIs and a .356 average, lost out to Joe Gordon. Gordon batted .322 with 18 homers and 103 RBIs. The previous year Williams batted .406 and finished second to Joe DiMaggio.

1959 — Ernie Banks of Chicago is the first player to win consecutive National League MVP awards.

1975 — Baltimore's Jim Palmer, the AL leader in wins (23), shutouts (10) and ERA (2.09), won his second Cy Young award.

1976 — The first mass-market free agent draft was held. Reggie Jackson, Joe Rudi, Don Gullet, Rollie Fingers, Don Baylor, Bobby Grich were among those available.

1980 — Steve Carlton won his third National League Cy Young award. Carlton was 24-9 with 2.34 ERA for Philadelphia.

2001 — Luis Gonzalez hit an RBI single to cap a two-run rally off Mariano Rivera in the bottom of the ninth, and the Arizona Diamondbacks won their first championship by beating the New York Yankees 3-2 in Game 7 — one of the greatest comebacks in World Series history. Curt Schilling and Randy Johnson were named co-MVPs.

2009 — The New York Yankees won the World Series, beating the defending champion Philadelphia Phillies 7-3 in Game 6 behind Hideki Matsui's record-tying six RBIs. Andy Pettitte won the clincher, pitching the Yankees to their 27th championship and first since 2000. Matsui homered, doubled and singled, and tied Bobby Richardson's 49-year-old record for RBIs in a Series game. His two-run homer off Pedro Martinez in the second inning started the Yankees on their way.


(Copyright 2015 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Minneapolis/St. Paul

Broken Clouds
37° | 15°
  • Feels like: 28° F
  • Wind: W 16mph
  • Humidity: 65%