3 Counties, 1 Tribal Gov't Added to Presidential Disaster Declaration

Updated: 08/14/2014 3:52 PM
Created: 08/14/2014 3:00 PM
By: Megan Matthews

Three Minnesota counties and one tribal government have been added to the list of counties receiving a presidential disaster declaration.

Gov. Mark Dayton wrote a letter to the President requesting that Lyon, Watonwan and Wright counties, as well as Boise Forte Band of Chippewa in Koochiching County, receive federal and state aid to help repair storm and flood damage. In all, 35 counties and three tribal governments are now eligible.

The damage happened between June 11 and July 11 after severe storms caused mudslides and flooding across the state. The federal and state aid will help repair public infrastructure that was damaged.

The list of counties could grow. The Federal Emergency Management Agency is still assessing and discussing damage in Dakota, Hennepin and Ramsey counties.

Under a presidential disaster declaration, FEMA funds 75 percent of approved costs, and the state will fund the non-federal share. The funds cover debris removal, emergency service and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities.

The Department of Public Safety will be holding informational meetings for local officials in the affected communities to explain the process of receiving federal aid. Then FEMA will return to affected communities to plan for disaster recovery.

Minneapolis/St. Paul

Few Clouds
86° | 65°
  • Feels like: 81° F
  • Wind: WNW 14mph
  • Humidity: 36%