abc
QUICK LINKS:

DPS: 4th of July is One of Deadliest Holidays on Minnesota Roads

Updated: 07/04/2014 9:23 AM
Created: 07/04/2014 9:02 AM KSTP.com
By: Jennie Olson

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety is reminding drivers to be careful this Fourth of July weekend, which is one of the deadliest holidays on Minnesota roads.

The department says there have been 59 deaths in Minnesota on Independence Day in the past 10 years, 34 of which have been alcohol-related. There have also been 4,585 crashes, 200 serious injuries and 5,324 DWI citations.

Extra DWI patrols will be out in full force this weekend, so if you’re planning to party on this holiday you’re encouraged to also plan a sober ride. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says 179 people were killed in drunken driving crashes on the Fourth of July alone in 2012, which is six times the daily average.

Officials are reminding drivers to slow down, buckle up, plan a sober ride and pay attention to the road.

Holiday

2013 Period

Hours

Crashes

Fatalities

Injuries

Memorial Day

Fri., May 24, 6 p.m., to

Mon., May 27, midnight

78

366

5

154

July Fourth

Wed., July 3, 6 p.m., to

Sun., July 7, midnight

102

562

7

332

Labor Day

Fri., Aug. 30, 6 p.m., to

Mon., Sept. 2, midnight

78

411

4

231

Thanksgiving

Wed., Nov. 27, 6 p.m., to

Sun., Dec. 1, midnight

102

564

3

297

Christmas

Tues., Dec. 24, 6 p.m., to

Wed., Dec. 25, midnight

30

379

0

102

New Year’s

Tues., Dec. 31, 6 p.m., to

Wed., Jan. 1, midnight

30

240

0

76

KSTP File Photo

Minneapolis/St. Paul

Few Clouds
51°
70° | 56°
  • Feels like: 51° F
  • Wind: E 6mph
  • Humidity: 89%
  • Fri A few thunderstorms possible
    76° | 62°
  • Sat Times of sun and clouds
    78° | 56°
  • Sun More sun than clouds
    70° | 53°
  • Mon Mix of sun and clouds
    68° | 48°

Video

KSTP NEWS