KSTP on Twitter KSTP on Facebook KSTP RSS Make KSTP Your Homepage

Updated: 07/01/2013 1:00 PM
Created: 07/01/2013 12:46 PM | Print |  Email
By: Scott Theisen

Dayton Names New Minn. Racing Commission Chairman

Gov. Mark Dayton is keeping Jesse Overton as a member of the Minnesota Racing Commission but has designated a new appointee to succeed him as chairman.
The governor named Ralph Strangis to head the commission Monday. He also named Thomas DiPasquale as a member and appointed Kristin Batson from the Minnesota Department of Management and Budget as interim executive director until a new director takes office.
The department confirmed last week that Overton was under investigation, but didn't identify the nature of the probe or say when it would finish.
Overton has been on the commission's board for four years, the last couple as its chairman.
The racing commission oversees Minnesota's two horse racing tracks, which are also home to poker and card game clubs.

Play the video to watch KSTP's previous report on the racing commission.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Related Stories:

Most Read Stories



Daily Poll