Party Activists Hold Caucuses Across Minnesota, One Heats Up in Mpls.

Updated: 02/05/2014 5:23 PM
Created: 02/04/2014 9:28 PM
By: Jennie Olson

The straw poll results from our state caucuses are in. On the GOP side for governor, former house Minority Leader Marty Seifert came in first.

State Senator Dave Thompson came in second and Hennepin County Commissioner Jeff Johnson in third.

For the U.S. Senate, State Senator Julianne Ortman came in first followed by businessman Mike McFadden.

The DFL held caucuses but did not vote.

Governor Mark Dayton and Senator Al Franken are both up for re-election on the DFL ticket.

The results are not binding.  

Not all caucuses were peaceful.

A fight broke out during the caucus at the Brian Coyle Center in the Cedar-Riverside area of Minneapolis.

Many people at the center want Minneapolis school board member Mohamud Noor to challenge longtime State Representative Phyllis Kahn for her seat.

Police were called and had to go in several times. Organizers later shut the meeting down.

The caucus will be re-scheduled because it was never officially adjourned.

No date has been set yet.

Minneapolis/St. Paul

Scattered Clouds
65° | 40°
  • Feels like: 56° F
  • Wind: NW 13mph
  • Humidity: 40%
  • Sun Plenty of sun
    65° | 50°
  • Mon Showers possible in the afternoon
    65° | 45°
  • Tue More clouds than sun
    53° | 36°
  • Wed More sun than clouds
    50° | 35°